On Camp Nanowrimo

Camp Nanowrimo is the little brother of Nanowrimo. During camp you set your own monthly word goal – and then try to reach it. You can write on any kind of project you like; it’s kind of a more relaxed Nano (because if you know anything about Nano – that shit’s crazy). You can choose to be paired with other aspiring writers in a cabin where you can discuss writing and motivate each other.

I’ve signed up for the normal Nanowrimo for at least two times, and I think I’ve signed up for Camp before as well. Somehow I’ve never succeeded in keeping up with it for more than two or three days. Except for this one! I’m actually doing really well. I set my goal for this July on 20,000 words, and today I reached 10,000!

nano
What’s different this time that I now do manage to keep up with my goal? For starters, Camp/Nano shouldn’t be underestimated. If you don’t know what you’re going to write, or if you miss one or two days, getting back on track already becomes a gargantuan task. For it to work you’ll most like have to write every day, and that’s hard. You can’t wait till you find time, you have to make it.

Having this deadline really helps me to get more motivation, and it keeps me writing on days I don’t even feel like it. Some people don’t react well to deadlines – apparently I’m one of the people that needs a deadline to finish something. During this Camp I’ve already finished one project, and am doing well on a second one. I wish it was Camp nano every month! Seeing my word count stick over the top of my goal line feels amazing.

One of the really cool things about events like these is that you’re not alone. Writing is a very solitary occupation and can get lonely sometimes. During the event it’s easy to find like-minded people that are in the same boat as you. I love checking out other people’s statistics and seeing them coming closer to their goals.

Camp Nanowrimo is perfect if you’d like to try to write a story. It’s not as stressful as the November Nanowrimo, and a lot more flexible if you’re not ready to write 50,000 words in one month. It’s been a great experience so far, and here’s to hoping I’ll be able to call myself a Camp Nano winner!

Have you ever participated in a Nanowrimo?

If you’d like to be Camp friends, you can find my profile here

One thought on “On Camp Nanowrimo

Leave a Reply

