Wicked Wildfire Readathon 2014

It’s that time of the year again: time for the Wicked Wildfire Readathon! Hosted by the lovely April and Kat from My Shelf Confessions, the WW Readathon is a week and a half long event dedicated to reading. My first WW Readathon was years ago, and I met so many lovely people through the chats. I’m looking forward to participating again, since for the first time in forever I’m actually free to do so. If you want to participate too – the readathon started today, so hurry! There are also two Twitter chats, and you can keep track of the other participants on their posts or the #WWreadathon hashtag.

Goals:

  • Finish at least two books. I’ve been in a bit of a slump so I don’t want to overextend myself
  • Visit at least 10 blogs of other participants
  • Try to participate in one of the Twitter chats

Updates:

Monday 14th

Summary: The boyfriend was here today, and I spent a lot of time reading while he played Fallout. Made great headway in the book I’m reading
Progress: 100 pages read in Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

Tuesday 15th

Summary: Busy day! Visited my grandmother in the hospital (she’s doing okay) and had a board game night. All in all it was a pretty nice day, and still got some reading done between happenings
Progress: 50 pages read in Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

Wednesday 16th

Summary: Time for some blog upkeep and relaxation. Already got a nice hour of reading time in the hour long train ride home from my boyfriend’s. After dinner I managed to finish my first book for the readathon. In the evening I picked up Choker and managed to read 75% of it before bed.
Progress: 150 pages read in Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward, finished the book! And some 180-ish pages in Choker by Elizabeth Woods

Thursday 17th

Summary: Finished up Choker in the morning. Good but slightly disturbing book! Since I missed the train on my way to our Dungeons & Dragons night I had the time to read quite a bit in Our Broken Sky.
Progress: Two books finished (ChokerLover Awakened). Reached my two-book goal. Also read 40% of Our Broken Sky.

Friday 18th

Summary: Since Our Broken Sky is a novella, I easily fit it in between other pursuits.
Progress: Finished Our Broken Sky novella. Finished three “books” in total

Saturday 19th

Summary: Eep! What to read next? The Cure for Dreaming just arrived, and I just couldn’t resist! Read the entire book. Usually I feel kind of burnt out after reading so much, but I blew through this one. Cat Winters’ second book didn’t disappoint.
Progress: Finished The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters, making a total of four books

Sunday 20th

Summary: A very hot and relaxed day. Since I don’t like reading physical books when it’s so hot (sweaty hands + paper isn’t a good combination) I picked up my Kindle again. Started Golden.
Progress: Read 75% of Golden by Jessi Kirby, closing in on five books

Monday 21st

Summary: A nice rainy day. Temperatures are a lot more bearable today. Finished Golden
Progress: Finished five books in total

Tuesday 22nd

Summary: Again very warm. Put a blanket on the grass outside and started Anna Karenina
Progress: Read 100 pages in Anna Karenina (on top of my five finished books)

Wednesday 23rd

Summary: Some more reading on my blanket! Making pretty good progress
Progress: At page 150 in Anna Karenina (on top of five finished books)

13 thoughts on “Wicked Wildfire Readathon 2014

  1. yay, glad you’re able to join us for this one! I hope you love the books you read and that you’re able to get all the reading done that you want 😀
    The read-a-thon is open for signups until July 22nd I believe, so plenty of time for people to sign up even if they miss the first couple days 😀

    • Nice! I love it when sign ups aren’t so rigid. Perfect for lazy people like me that always forget to sign up early. Thanks a lot for hosting this again April, and I hope you enjoy it as well!

  2. Good luck with your goals and beating that reading slump! I’m participating too, but my goals were again too high, so I’m far behind on my progress (: .
    See what I’m reading here.

    • Ha, after participating in many readathons I’ve learned to keep my goals and expectations low! Real life interferes so often, it’s hard to stick to a rigid schedule. Hope you can still read some the rest of the readathon (:

  3. Leonor (Ner) says:

    Reading slumps are terrible! But you’ve been amazing so far… I’m so behind on my own goals (to read five books in ten days… yeah! Not gonna happen!!!).

    Amazing new blog and, as I’ve said, I love the name. Hail to the Irresponsible Cactus 😉

    XX Ner

    • Ha, wow! Five books in ten days is a lot. Hope you can still manage to read quite a bit the rest of the week (: Thanks so much! Love that you like the name.

      Can’t wait for your readathon 😀

Leave a Reply

