Top 5 Movies on My Watchlist

Recently I’ve been watching a lot more movies than I used to. With it comes of course the difficulty of picking a movie to watch. Here are the top five picks from my watchlist that I’m hoping to watch soon.

  • Kill Bill: Vol. 1 (2003) – I think I once saw Kill Bill 2 and didn’t understand very much of it. Quentin Tarantino is one of those directors you either love or hate, and so far I loved Pulp Fiction. Hopefully Kill Bill will be just as good
  • The Godfather (1972)- This is like, the classic movie of classic movies. So many people love it that I have to give it a shot
  • Carrie (2013) – I’m a big Stephen King fan, and Carrie is an amazing book. I recently watched the 1976 movie, and I’m interested to see how the new and improved Carrie compares
  • American Beauty (1999) – One of my classmates at university once used this movie for a movie analysis, and I’ve been intrigued ever since
  • Avatar (2009) – It’s rather terrible that I still haven’t seen this movie yet. I’ve been planning on watching it ever since it came out – five years ago! Maybe 2014 will be the year I FINALLY watch Avatar

top5Have you seen any of these movies? Do you have a recommendation that I HAVE to watch?

24 thoughts on “Top 5 Movies on My Watchlist

  1. I loved Avatar when I saw it at the theatre and I rewatched it a few times since and still enjoyed it quite a bit! And I actually saw Kill Bill for the first time earlier this year and enjoyed it too so those two get my vote. I still need to watch Godfather though so maybe if I see you loved it it’ll motivate me to get it done XD

    • I’m watching the second half of the first Kill Bill tonight. It’s a bit of a slow movie, but it’s been okay so far. Avatar is definitely on the top of my list now 😀 Ha, if the Godfather is really good I’ll poke you until you watch it too!

  2. Avatar is a really good watch :). It was great to see it as the first 3D in the cinema! American Beauty definitely intrigues me. I’m one of those weirdos that are actually on the fence with Tarantino haha! Didn’t like Pulp Fiction but enjoyed Django Unchained.

    Nice list Celine!

    • Oo yes! I think Avatar was also one of the first movies to be released on Blu-ray. Now both 3D and Blu-ray are so normal. I think I might join you on the fence! I really liked Pulp Fiction, but now I’m watching Kill Bill and I’m a bit ambivalent about it. We’ll see.

      Thanks for stopping by Leah ^^

  3. I have seen The Godfather (at least parts of it), but I just don’t like mafia movies. I have yet to see a movie version from Carrie; I’ve read the book though. I liked Avatar. It’s a beautiful movie to look at even when the plot is sometimes a bit slow 😀

    • Hm, mafia movies are always rather dark, I can imagine them not being your thing. They’re usually hit or miss for me. I really liked Pulp Fiction which is rather mafia-y, but I’ve also zapped away from many of them. The oldschool Carrie movie is pretty cool – really disturbing and pulpy. I’m totally just watching Avatar for the looks! Heard that the graphics are awesome

  4. These are classics, more or less, but I’ve only seen Avatar, which I really liked. Now you gave me an idea, I could make a list of classic movies everyone saw but me 🙂 I already said I will watch more movies this summer, but so far I don’t think I’ve watched any at all. Enjoy!

    • I love lists! And that’d be really fun. That way if you feel like watching a movie, you have a nice selection to pick from. Summer is quite perfect for watching movies in my opinion, lots of long lazy days ^^ I’m really looking forward to seeing Avatar. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. ^^;; i should start a watch list but then it would be too depressing, i’m not that interested in most of your choices true ( safe avatar) but i haven’t watched any of your top 5^^;; i feel so behind

    • Ha, no worries about that. These are just some movies I’m interested in, if they don’t appeal to you there’s no reason to watch them 😀 I like making lists, having a watchlist helps me to decide what to watch next. But it’s not for everyone

  6. I haven’t seen The Godfather yet but I would like to see it. I liked Kill Bill but hated Avatar. I think part of it was that it was so much hyped when it came out and then it was such a disappointment.

    • Hm yeah, it was so hyped up when it just came out. By now I’ve heard so many criticisms that my expectations are a lot more reasonable now I think (: Hope you enjoy The Godfather when you watch it!

  7. Of all on this list I only haven’t seen Carrie and probably never will. I don’t have courage for it and I highly doubt I ever will. Still I loved others you listed and they were amazing. Great list 🙂

  8. If you don’t know it yet – my recommendation would be “Safety not guaranteed”. it’s available on Netflix (even via streaming) – so yay to that. And it’s really interesting. Half of the time, I didn’t know whether I really liked it or not, but it left me impressed. 🙂 It’s not a major blockbuster, rather a little independent, but it has great character studies and a funky vibe to it. Also some nice quiet moments…

  9. Bube says:

    Nope,none of the above films 😀
    Some day in the future 😀

    My recommendation:Underworld – all 4 movies,they are simply awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

