Games I’m Going to Play Once I Actually Have a Computer I Can Play Them On

So, a few weeks ago my laptop died. It was sad, but I was prepared that it could happen, so it wasn’t too bad. What was bad though, is the fact that in the meantime I’ve had three new laptops, none of which I was content about. One had a wrong resolution screen. I exchanged that one for one with a better screen, but it made a ticking noise. Then I exchanged that one for a new one, and GUESS WHAT, it made the same ticking noise. Now I’ve ordered a Dell, and that one is taking over two weeks to get here. Ugh.

But instead of dwelling on the bad, I’m going to look forward to the good! There are a lot of computer games I’m really excited about. They’re not necessarily new, because I actually don’t buy new games that often.

1. Bioshock Infinite

I’ve already played this game on my boyfriend’s PC for an hour or two, and this game is just GORGEOUS. The graphics and general aesthetic is amazing, and quite unlike the normal doom and gloom of video games.

It’s set in a floating city in the early 1910’s, and the main character has to rescue a girl named Elizabeth. She’s held captive in a giant statue. The whole setting is rather bizarre which makes the game even more awesome. I’m terribly bad at first person shooters, but the easy setting on Bioshock Infinite is just perfect.

2. Alice: Madness Returns

Okay, so I kind of really love Alice in Wonderland. If you think the movie adaptations are crazy, read the book. I can definitely see why people suspect Carroll to be on drugs.

Alice: Madness Returns is kind of a part two. the first Alice by American McGee was released in 2000, and I’ve really enjoyed that game as well. I did have a couple of issues with the first Alice though; the puzzles were sometimes too hard, the landscape was often rather bleak, the gameplay wasn’t very smooth. Madness Returns solves all those problems, and adds an extra dash of weirdness and some amazing graphics. The gameplay itself isn’t very unique, but the atmosphere makes up for that in spades.

I actually like this game so much that I dressed up as Alice during Halloween a few years ago. You can’t really see it, but I’m even holding a bloody dagger (Vorpal Blade) in my left hand.

alice

3. The F.E.A.R. Games

I own the first three F.E.A.R. (First Encounter Assault Recon) games on Steam. The first one had some issues, so I’ve only been able to get really far in the third.

What the games all have in common is that they’re damn scary. It’s definitely not a game you want to play alone in a dark house. I have no idea why it’s appealing to scare yourself, but it kind of is. The story-lines are pretty good and quite engaging, so you just keep playing to find out what happened.

These are the three games (or franchises) I’m most excited about – though LEGO Lord of the Rings and Skyrim get an honourable mention as well. It’s too bad I can’t play them right now, because the summer holidays are perfect for binge-gaming.

Have you played any of these games before? Do you have a recommendation that I should add to this list?

 

8 thoughts on “Games I’m Going to Play Once I Actually Have a Computer I Can Play Them On

  1. I have Alice madness returns for the PC as well. I love the gory scenes and the dark atmosphere! I haven’t played it in a while, far too busy with PS3 games :p Very cool that you dressed up as her! I’m playing Lego LOTR at the moment, I adore the Lego games.

  2. I’m not a big gamer because I’m too awkward XD I never had a good enough computer for them either so that’s my next plan: getting a good enough computer or lap top to actually manage these graphic heavy games. Sometimes I played things on my brother’s computer (like Sims 3 recently when he was away for 3 weeks) but generally I left my gaming days behind me. I used to love Aladdin as a kid, played that forever, and the original Prince of Persia. The new one is so hard haha, even though I like it. And Assassin’s Creed. I am too clumsy for those! My brother has an Xbox so we played on that, and as much as I can handle SSX and NFS and so on (I used to loooove NFS for PC) I cannot get a hold of Portal, AC, things like that. He also tried to teach me shooter games which was a bit easier but I died so often on 2 player my brother kicked me out XD Not that I practiced too much but ‘WASD’ is much easier for me than them triangles and exes and lefts and rights and whatnot 😀
    I used to also play WoW. 😀 Yep, blood elf fan right here. 😀 I will get back to that as soon as I have a better machine.
    If you like scary, check out Alan Wake. That shit it so spooky my brother and I quickly stopped playing it. 😀

    • How very old school! My boyfriend used to love that kind of games too. I never really got into those platformer type of games. I am TERRIBLE with games like Assassin’s Creed, and Portal just requires too much thinking for me xD I’m definitely on the same page concerning controllers. I’m so much more comfortable playing on a keyboard.

      Ooo, yay! What expansions did you play? I’ve had a night elf druid since classic, and recently I picked it up again. WoW luckily runs on pretty much every computer, it even worked fine on my old laptop before it died (though on low graphics, but I don’t mind that)

      I heard so many great things about Alan Wake! The story of that one sounds pretty awesome. I’ll give it a try when my boyfriend is near. Otherwise I’ll be too scared to go to sleep, haha

      • Yeah keyboards are definitely my preferred weapon 😀

        My bro and I had Lich king and Burning Crusade but then after that both topped playing. I think we might be very behind by now 😀 I might get back to it because as you said, works well on almost anything.

        It’s good but definitely scary, you have no light or run out of batteries and whatnot so it’s dark most of the time. I was pissed scared hahaha 😀

  3. I’m not a gamer myself, but I have friends who are LOL and WOW addicts. But yeah, I never really got into it. I’m kinda of glad I didn’t xD But I must say that Alice game seems so good. I like the idea and you look lovely in that costume! 🙂 I really hope you’ll enjoy your new games and that your new computer will be the best. Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

