Audio

Resonance: Pensive Mood

Welcome to my new bi-weekly feature on Irresponsible Cactus. Every post will introduce one featured song and a further playlist around a certain theme. I’m kicking the feature off with the theme Pensive Mood.
resonance
When I’m feeling pensive, I like music that isn’t too loud, but also isn’t too emotional. It calls for songs with clear yet catching melodies, intricate instrumentals, and abstract lyrics. For this playlist I’m going with unexpected songs. Bands like Opeth and Bring Me the Horizon are often characterised by their loudness, but here I’m picking their more thoughtful and softer songs.


The tracklist:

  1. To Rid the Disease by Opeth – Such a beautiful song. It has one of the best guitar and piano instrumental parts I’ve ever heard
  2. Quutamo  by Apocalyptica – Maybe a bit upbeat for this playlist, but that melody is just perfect
  3. Avalon by Midgar – Midgar is such an underrated band that deserves to be a lot more popular than they are. It’s so easy to daydream to the tunes of Avalon
  4. And the Snakes Start to Sing by Bring Me The Horizon – The entire Sempiternal album has an amazing laid-back quality that reminds me of Thirty Seconds to Mars. On itself And the Snakes Start to Sing isn’t very strong, but it works great in this playlist
  5. Four Rusted Horses by Marilyn Manson – As always, the lyrics are dark and bleak, but the kinda funky clean guitars make this song unique for Marilyn Manson
  6. Biblical by Biffy Clyro – Biffy Clyro excels in technical music combined with amazing and refreshing lyrics. Biblical’s catch-phrase “I gave you magical, you gave me wonderful” will stay in your head for the next few hours
  7. Planets by Adema – Adema has had a tumultuous past, releasing four albums with three different vocalists. Planets is the title track of their third album with Luke Carracioli, who is one of my favourites. His soft voice with the reverb guitar playing the main melody is amazing. And that bridge!
  8. Running Up That Hill by Placebo (Kate Bush cover) – Placebo isn’t to everyone’s taste, but their rendition of Running Up That Hill is the perfect closer to this list

What would your perfect playlist for a pensive mood be? If you’d like to share yours, use the Mr Linky below.

10 thoughts on “Resonance: Pensive Mood

  1. Wayne D'ava (@WretchedDreams) says:

    Four Rusted Horses is one of my favorite songs by Manson. Not a lot of people know or like it.

  2. Planets!!! That’s one of my favorite songs. I’m not fan of Adema because of all changes and everything, but that song is amazing. Also Quutamo which I really like. I haven’t heard of the others, but I’ll listen to them now. Great list 🙂

Leave a Reply

