Read Play Blog: September

Read Play Blog is a meme about video games and books, posted every 16th of the month. Bloggers are encouraged to answer a discussion question, and recommend a video game that is similar to a book they liked. Hosted by Happy Indulgence & Read Me Away.

This month’s question:
What is your preferred gaming platform?

I’ve actually barely played games on consoles. Growing up I had a Gameboy Colour, and until we got a PC that was the only medium I ever played games on. I think my preferred gaming platform now is definitely the PC, mainly because it’s just so easy. Moving a camera with the mouse feels way more natural to me than having to control it with a stick on a controller. There are also so much more games released on PC, and Steam is my very best buddy. I also still love to play my old Pokémon and Harry Potter games on my Gameboy Advance or Nintendo DS.

Currently playing:

Since school started again I’ve barely had time to play games (although I somehow did find enough time to read like crazy). I’ve mainly been playing Hearthstone because it’s such a casual and fun game to play between studying. The best thing about Hearthstone is that it’s free – even though you can pay for the collectible cards, I personally find it way more satisfying to play for them.

What are you playing this month?

11 thoughts on “Read Play Blog: September

  1. In my opinion moving a camera with a controller feels way more natural and controlling the camera is one of the things that still feel a bit unnatural when gaming on the pc. But indeed a pc is so handy and easy and even indie games can be found on the pc. I also love steam, what’s your account name?
    A few of the people I know play Hearthstone, but I haven’t played it yet. I have enough other games I have to get through first ;).

    • PC is the easiest and most accessible platform. So many super cheap indie games on there! My Steam library kind of exploded when I found out about these cheap indie bundles (like Humble Bundle and Indie Gala). My Steam name is Erlihyd, feel free to add me 😀

      My to-play list is getting out of hand just like my to-be-read, ha.

  2. I really wish I could use steam, but I can’t because I’m on my mac, and I won’t have a PC until, never? I want to try to get a desktop for games, and then keep my mac for convenience, but we’ll see.

    Anyways, I usually just stick to my PS3, because I LOVE PLAYSTATION 😀

  3. Oh I have heard that Hearthstone can be really addictive, glad to hear that you enjoy it! I think I would get addicted because of the collectible cards, definitely playing for it would be more satisfying.

    Glad to hear you enjoy the PC as well, that’s my favourite 🙂

    • Ooo yes, Hearthstone is very addictive! You have these daily quests you can complete, which make it rewarding to play every day. And yeah, I prefer to play rather than pay. Paying feels like it’s too ‘easy’.

  4. I totally agree re: camera movement. Playing games with that mechanic just feel so much easier on a PC when I’m playing with a mouse compared to controlling it with the analog stick on a controller or something. 🙂

    I haven’t played Hearthstone, but I have a friend that does, and it looks quite cool! 😀

    Thank you so much for participating, Celine! 😀

    • How interesting how it feels so different for everyone! I can’t seem to hold controllers properly, I always get thumb-cramps. Hearthstone is fun (and free), so I definitely recommend to give it a go (:

Leave a Reply

