Gotta Catch ’em All

10383537_870711869618034_7961435037162227271_nWhen I was really young, around the tender age of four, I got introduced to Pokémon. It used to air on Dutch television in the mornings, and every morning, me and my brother would be ready to see the adventures of Ash and Pikachu. I was so into it, that I had a fake Pokémon bed spread, all of the Pokémon games for the Gameboy Color and the Gameboy Advance, and I would daydream about having my own Pokémon (preferably a Mew or a Chikorita).

Throughout the years I lost touch with it. I bought a Nintendo DS Lite, and although I had a lot of fun with it, I felt like it had lost part of its charm. The TV series had lost the characters I used to love (Brock and Misty), and the constant parade of new Pokémon became too overwhelming to be truly fun any more.

On the way back from our London trip a few weeks ago, my boyfriend offered to let me play Pokémon Y on his 3DS. He does this kind of thing all the time – as I try to push him towards books, he tries to get me to play more games. Since I had nothing better to do on our five hour train ride, I created a new character, and got into the bright and shiny world of the Kalos region.

And boy, are these games addictive.

I tend to play them full-immersion style, completely oblivious what’s happening around me, as visible on the lovely picture taken by Bas. I didn’t even notice anything because I was so into my Pokémon adventure. I love to explore the world, capture as many Pokémon as I can on the go. Pokémon Y is easier than the old games, but still has the same elements that make these games so popular. I’ve also started to watch the anime from the beginning out of pure nostalgia. I was pleasantly surprised how well the series hold up – it’s still just as cute and funny as I remember it. I wasn’t expecting to love it as an adult, but it’s still extremely entertaining.

So if you’re looking for me, I’ll be lurking in the tall grass with a Pokéball in hand.

3 thoughts on “Gotta Catch ’em All

  1. I used to watch Pokémon allll the time when I was younger. My sisters were much more into it than I was, but I remember being surrounded by everything Pokémon at home and at school. Rock on, sister 🙂

    • I totally forgot about that, but it was definitely the bomb at school. For a year or so, everyone would play with Pokémon Flippos (or whatever they were called) during the breaks.

Leave a Reply

