Comic Mini Reviews: Saga #1-18

Title: Saga, Vol. 1
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Series: Saga #1-6
Rating: 4 Stars
160 pages – Published October 23rd 2012 by Image Comics
Bought

Saga is a violent space opera science-fiction romp with explicit sex scenes and a whole lot of randomness. It has a high shock factor, and probably shouldn’t be read in class or at work. Or any public place for that matter. (Really, don’t do it. It will get you VERY weird looks.) Gimmicks aside, Saga is also incredibly well written, funny, poignant, and has some fantastic messages on violence and its pointlessness. It’s great. The (rather adult) style reminded me of Rat Queens, which is similar, only set in a fantasy world.

Title: Saga, Vol. 2
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Series: Saga #7-12
Rating: 4 Stars
144 pages – Published July 2nd 2013 by Image Comics
Bought

I very much enjoyed how the second volume of Saga fleshes out the characters some more. Alana, our leading lady, is fabulously written. I love how Saga is more concerned with love within a family, and devotion towards loved ones rather than the falling in romantic love most fiction focusses on. This volume is shorter than the first, and felt slightly unfinished. The plot arc wasn’t as well-defined as it was in the first volume. The shock-factor is still present, but I’m probably becoming immune for it.

Title: Saga, Vol. 3
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Series: Saga #13-18
Rating: 3 Stars
144 pages – Published March 25th 2014 by Image Comics
Bought

Completing the story arc that started in the first Saga volume, the third left me rather confused. This graphic novel is filled with people receiving mortal wounds, yet only a few of them die. Someone got shot in the back of the head, but apparently is alive and kicking in the next chapter. The story was okay, but I felt like there were too many characters I didn’t care for. The art in this comic is great, but I’m not sure I’m interested enough to find out more in the next volume.

4 thoughts on “Comic Mini Reviews: Saga #1-18

  1. I’ve seen this comic around a few times, but never really check it out or knew where it was about. I like the art style used for the covers. Although I am not sure the shock value and randomness is something I would appreciate. Great reviews!

  2. Red Iza says:

    I’m a huge fan of this series – my library ordered the 4th vol. and I told my coworker that I *had* to have it first !!! I wasn’t as shocked as you were but well, maybe I’m just a lot older and I can see why other people wouldn’t read it in public 😉 And now that I’ve read your review, I have to go check Rat Queens 😀

Leave a Reply

