Rock am Ring 2015

It has been rather quiet on the travel front here on Irresponsible Cactus after my last two trips to London and Bruges. But summer is finally here, and with summer come awesome festivals like Rock am Ring! This German music festival was held from June 5th till June 7th on an airfield by Mendig. Three days of sunshine, music, and very little sleep.

rar1Rock am Ring caters to a certain musical audience – but when you’re into this kind of music, it’s an absolutely heavenly festival. This year’s headliners were Foo Fighters, The Prodigy, Die Toten Hosen, and Slipknot. Rock am Ring features rock music ranging from classic rock to punk rock to heavy metal. It’s the biggest music festival where I live – with its 90,000 visitors it puts many other festivals to shame. Having such a huge crowd means that the program is always fantastic. More people to buy tickets means more money for the organisation to get some excellent acts. And this year’s line-up was wonderful! Bands I was most looking forward to were Slipknot (ahhhhhhhhh), Marilyn Manson, Royal Republic and Rise Against.

rar2Like real festival-goers, we packed up our tents, got in the car for a 1,5 hour drive, and made our homes for the coming few nights. It was the first time ever that Bas and I had to put up our own tent, but we managed admirably, and within an hour our beautiful bright green tent was firmly put into place on the Green camping. We arrived in the evening on Thursday, and the first acts started on Friday afternoon. Don’t people always say that disaster strikes in threes? Well, we got disasters in spades.

  1. The smallest disaster, but an annoying one nevertheless, was that I didn’t sleep at all the first night. I’m a notoriously bad sleeper, and the different environment kept me awake the entire night. Not the best way to start a tough three-day festival that goes on till 3AM each day
  2. Friday was too hot. We barely had any shade, and basically just laid there like slugs from 9AM till the afternoon. Sadly this made our friend so sick he decided to go home
  3. The quality of the air was terrible, and my asthma-ridden boyfriend was inhaling his medicine like I do books
  4. Then, during Marilyn Manson on Friday, a gigantic thunderstorm hit the festival. We evacuated together with 50,000 other people, trying to get into our tents in time. During this storm and another one that hit two hours later, the lightning struck two times on festival terrain, leaving 33 people injured. We were fine, but that was definitely not a fun experience
  5. On the second day, I convinced Bas that really, he should see the First Aid people. They put him on an IV with medicine for an hour. Luckily, this greatly improved how he was feeling, and we didn’t need to go back for the rest of the festival

So, that part of the festival wasn’t all that great. The positive outweighed the negative though, and in the end we had a fantastic time. After the way-too-hot weather on Friday, we got some comfortable nice and sunny weather on Saturday and Sunday.

rar3In the end we saw sixteen bands: Donots, Yellowcard, Rise Against, Clueso, half an hour of Marilyn Manson, Royal Republic, Lower Than Atlantis, We Are Harlot, The Prodigy, Hollywood Undead, Enter Shikari, Godsmack, Papa Roach, Lamb of God, Motörhead, and Slipknot. Royal Republic and Slipknot were exceptional, but I wasn’t expecting any different. The pleasant surprises of the weekend were Hollywood Undead, Godsmack, and Papa Roach. I wasn’t expecting much, but they were all three very fun in their own way.

rar4The festival coincided with my birthday, so on Sunday Bas had prepared a little surprise for me. In the end it wasn’t much of a surprise because Bas is terrible at keeping secrets, but he got me a warm breakfast (scrambled eggs and tea, yum), filled our tent with 20 ballons (the 21st was messed up), and gave me a present (a trip to Paris this summer, eeeep :D). I definitely have the bestest boyfriend ever.

rar5The trip was thoroughly exhausting, filled with adventures, and completely worth it. There just is something about sharing this experience with thousands of other people that makes it feel special. The people at Rock am Ring were extremely nice, and the organisation was great. The rules are very laid back, which makes the place feel more relaxed in general. You were allowed to bring your own food and drinks to the festival terrain; the terrain had tons of places were you could refill your water; First Aid was free; there was a Lidl supermarket on the camping, selling anything you could ever need for their regular pricing.

rar6

Combine that with great music, and you have a winning formula. I don’t think we saw one band that we thought actually played badly (though I wasn’t a big fan of Lamb of God). The audiences were lovely as well, dancing/moshing/clapping enthusiastically at every act.

rar7

We already decided we would love to go again next year. Preferably we’ll be free of medical mishaps and apocalyptic storms then.

14 thoughts on “Rock am Ring 2015

  1. Red Iza says:

    What a great program, such wonderful groups ! I’m sorry for the disasters, though – luckily Bas got better rather quickly. And happy belated birthday !

  2. Yikes! I’m so sorry about all of the disasters that struck you guys! The thunder/lightning sounds scary and that’s awful that people got injured and everything D: It also sucks that it cut Marilyn Manson’s set short, though understandably to be sure. Other than that and the health issues for you guys, I’m glad that it was a positive experience! I would love to see Godsmack and Papa Roach, not to mention the Foo Fighters and Marilyn Manson! Oh and YAY for your boyfriend surprising you!! PARIS ♥

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us!! xx

    • I was really sad about not seeing all of Marilyn Manson, BUT, I got tickets for his show in my town this fall. So at least I’m not missing out on all of the fun ^_^

      Godsmack and Papa Roach were great live, I’d definitely recommend seeing them if they’re ever near you! xxx

  3. That’s insane! I can’t believe you’re actually planning to go back after all that, haha.

    I would have a really hard time with the sleeping part, too. I went to Lollapalooza back in 2006, but that’s three days without overnights, so it wasn’t so bad. Also, no one got struck by lightning or had to get first aid. Yikes. I’m glad you guys are all okay.

    Aww, Bas sounds really sweet! The balloons were a cute idea. And Paris! Obviously 21 is a big deal in the U.S. because of the drinking age, but does it have any special significance in the Netherlands?

    • Well, the festival itself was awesome? xD Hopefully next time will be a bit lower on stress though. We’ve been to a lot of other festivals before (Rock-a-Field, Pinkpop, and my boyfriend went to Sziget), but it has never been this bad on the health front.

      Lollapalooza sounds like fun! And everything is better when no one gets hit by lightening.

      21 doesn’t really give you any awesome privileges in the Netherlands – we can drink and gamble from 18. I think the only “new” thing is that I’m now allowed to ride heavy motorcycles. But that’s not something I’m going to be doing any time soon, haha. It’s not as big of a deal as it is in the States for sure.

  4. Isis Sousa says:

    Wow, Celine! I was really wondering how it went on the festival, then I found this post ^.^So nice to read through it and get a glimpse of your experience ^.^It sounded so exciting! Wow, Lighting striking on the people at the festival? That was spooooooky! I’d pee in my trousers afraid of that! LOL! Your boyfriend however must have suffered with the heat and conditions… I know how he feels, I’m that kind of person… But hope his health is now better 🙂 Glad the production and facility was friendly enough and assisted you guys, and you had all those nice things such as the supermarket on the camping 🙂 This was something to remember, an amazing experience! And last but not leas, congratulations!!!!!! 😀 You’re Gemini, how interesting! 😀

    • I’m glad you found the post, I’ve been terrible at keeping in touch with you lately D:

      Argh, and I’m so terrified of lightning in general! When there is a bad thunderstorm I tend to hide in the kitchen. Being in an open field during a thunderstorm is one of my worst nightmares.

      Within a day or so Bas felt completely normal again, so that was good 😀 I’m glad we got to see everything we wanted to see, even with all of the stuff that was going on

      The people at the festival were lovely! Everything went so smoothly, it was great.

      Thank youuuuu 😀 Haha, yes, definitely a Gemini.

  5. Celine! Belated happy birthday! All the mishaps aside, this sounds so much fun! I’d love to attend one of these in the future, where you had to stay in a tent for a few days. Also, PARIS!!!

Leave a Reply

