Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2015

Hi! Long time no see. With my dramatic decrease of free time because of university, Irresponsible Cactus has been a bit sad and empty lately. I’ve been concentrating mainly to keep Nyx Book Reviews running, and this awesome little blog has fallen to the wayside.

However, today it is time for the 24 hour #readathon (find out more info on their website), and I thought it would be fun to do the challenges and hourly updates on here! So, if you’re participating too, leave a comment or connect with me on Twitter!

The Reading Stack

readathon reading stackI’m keeping it simple this readathon. Just one book, the classic The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, and two beautiful graphic novels. I’m just hoping to read more than I usually would today!

Adventure log

Hour 1: I managed to read 25 pages of The Scarlet Letter. There has been some distraction in the form of conversations with my mother, chatting with my boyfriend, and general Twitter awesomeness, but overall, not a bad start!

Hour 2: Lunch time! The tea was a present from my Secret Sister – I had the Honeybush Acai Berry Punch, which was really nice. I read another handful of pages in The Scarlet Letter, which brings my grand total of pages read up to 30.

readathon lunch

Hour 3: I was very much distracted this hour by family members and the pets. I have 75 pages left in my book, so I’m hoping I can read those uninterrupted now

Hour 4: Some good old reading, while our doggy keeps me company on the couch. Only 40 books left in the book. It’s going in the right direction 😀

Hour 5+6: Reading break and dinner! I’ve been battling with an ugly headache for the last three days, and it started to rear its ugly head again. But I took some painkillers, and I’m ready for some more reading now

Hour 7: I finished The Scarlet Letter! Aw yeah. Also wrote my mini-review, and now it’s time for a fresh cup of tea and Alex + Ada!

Hour 8: Read Alex + Ada, Volume 1 in its entirety. Really good science fiction graphic novel. It’s too bad I don’t have the other two trades of this one. I’m going to take a break from reading now, get some blogging done instead. In other readathon related news, I also won a prize! Go me 😀

Hour 9+10+11: I took a break from reading to watch a movie with my mom. We saw Waking Ned Divine, a brilliant comedy about a small Irish village. After that, it was time for some sleep.

Hour 12-21: Bed time

Hour 22: Woke up, had breakfast, and picked a new book to read: Murder-on-Sea. It’s a murder mystery with a bit of a Christmas atmosphere.

Hour 23+24: Managed to read 170 pages in Murder-at-Sea.

Final tally

Books read: one novel (The Scarlet Letter) and one graphic novel (Alex + Ada, Volume 1)

Pages read: 470

Hours read: 6

4 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2015

  1. I’m reading today largely free of family member distractions. It’s weird being my only distraction, though still do a pretty top notch job of being super distracting. LOL! Keep up the great reading! =D

Leave a Reply

