Nanowrimo 2015 – Sort Of

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerNanowrimo is this super cool event where writers from all over the world, both professional and amateur, try to write a novel (or 50,000 words of a novel) in the month of November. If you’ve ever written before, you might know that this is well, really really difficult, which is why there is a large support group and forums and pep talks to keep you going.

November is never a good month for me. It’s smack dab in the middle of the academic year, and there are often exams to prepare for an papers to be written. I’m currently doing a master’s degree, and they do not believe in free time. So I have none. Nor do I generally have the energy to write anything after slavering away on a theoretical essay.

But.

I do love writing. And I love the Nanowrimo community. And I do want to be part of that, in a way, even if I can’t write 50,000 words. So this year I’m going to try to participate with a much lower word count goal: 10,000. Instead of working on a novel, I’ll be writing science fiction and fantasy short stories – and if all goes well, finish two or three of them. Of course, I will keep you guys posted on my progress.

Are you participating in Nanowrimo this year?

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo 2015 – Sort Of

  1. Vicky Hooper says:

    I signed up when I thought I was going to have quite a light November for work. Now suddenly I have a new project at work, workmen in the house from next week to put in a new shower, two trips to London for work in November… and I just realised Fallout 4 comes out this month too – what a lot of distractions! I’m still gonna give it a go though. 🙂 To be honest, even if I don’t manage the full word count, any writing at all is good!

    Best of luck with your short stories! (and with the theoretical essays too). Hope all goes well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

